Using NLP & LLM to combat ‘tip-of-the-tongue’ moments during onboarding

onboarding nlp llm embeddings ai

How to make onboarding experience a little bit smoother with the help of NLP and LLM.

Luděk Stehlík https://www.linkedin.com/in/ludekstehlik/
10-10-2023

I believe that many of you have had a similar experience when you joined a new company: you have taken a ton of notes from various meetings and trainings, you know that the answer to your immediate question is in there somewhere, but it is too hard to find the right notes, so you capitulate and decide to try to find the answer in a different way, e.g. by asking a more tenured colleague.

To make better use of my notes from my current onboarding, I created a quick and dirty app that uses embeddings to find the relevant files with my notes and LLM to summarise answers to my questions.

So, for example, if I need to find out who owns a certain business process, I can just type my question into the app and quickly get an answer, including tips on what files to look at to verify the answer or find other related information.

If you want to check out the code behind the app, you can find it in this GitHub repo.

Citation

For attribution, please cite this work as

Stehlík (2023, Oct. 10). Ludek's Blog About People Analytics: Using NLP & LLM to combat 'tip-of-the-tongue' moments during onboarding. Retrieved from https://blog-about-people-analytics.netlify.com/posts/2023-10-23-nlp-llm-and-onboarding/

BibTeX citation

@misc{stehlík2023using,
  author = {Stehlík, Luděk},
  title = {Ludek's Blog About People Analytics: Using NLP & LLM to combat 'tip-of-the-tongue' moments during onboarding},
  url = {https://blog-about-people-analytics.netlify.com/posts/2023-10-23-nlp-llm-and-onboarding/},
  year = {2023}
}